ProAg of Renville County

2020 Scholarships

ProAg is honored to announce Kaitlyn Lorang of Morton and Rosalyn Madsen of Franklin as recipients of the Agriculture of America scholarships. Kaitlyn Lorang is a senior at Cedar Mountain High School with plans to attend South Dakota State University to study Agronomy and Agricultural Communications. Rosalyn Madsen is a senior at Cedar Mountain High School with plans to attend South Dakota State University to study Precision Agriculture and Agricultural Education.

$4,200 AFA Scholarships:
      Kaitlyn Lorang    - Cedar Mountain High School
      Rosalyn Madsen - Cedar Mountain High School

$500 Jonathon Roker Memorial Scholarships:
        Nathon Frank - BOLD
        Andrew Sheehan - BOLD

$500 County Scholarship:
        Jacob Schaefer - GFW

$250 Scholarships:
        London Prokosch - BOLD
        Madelyn Haen - RCW
        Tyler Rice - RCW
        Colby Schroeder - RV

AFA Scholarship Application is now available via the link below - Application is due March 11, 2020
Completion of the AFA application will qualify applicants for all scholarships that they are eligible for.

The local ProAg Scholarship application link is below. The application is due March 11, 2020

ProAg of Renville County is happy to announce the 2020 scholarship opportunities for Renville County
high school seniors. These scholarships are being made available by ProAg of Renville County, ProAg Scholarship Fund drive and the generous donations to the 2018 Renville County All Ag Celebration.

ProAg is administrating the scholarship program. The program is offering scholarships (Number for 2020 TBD) to Renville County residents as well as the AFA Scholarship. ProAg also administers the Jonathan Roker Memorial Scholarship which is available to students who attend BLHS, BOLD, Cedar Mountain, GFW, RCW, Redwood Area, YME but they need not be a resident of Renville County.

There is one application for the three ProAg administered scholarships.
2020 ProAg Scholarship Application link.  
Use AFA online Application below to apply for the AFA Scholarship & all ProAg Scholarships. 
NOTE: The number of scholarships offered in 2020 will be limited. The AFA and Jonathan Roker Scholarships will be awarded. The number of other ProAg Scholarships are to be determined. 

2020 ProAg Scholarship Application link. 

1 - The scholarships per school requirements:
~ $250 to $500 scholarships per school (Number for 2020 TBD). More than two scholarships may be awarded to any school if funding is available. 
    BLHS, BOLD, Cedar Mountain, GFW, RCW, Redwood Area, YME,
    Students who live in Renville County and attending another High School or are a Home Schooled resident of Renville County will also receive consideration.
~ Renville County resident
~ Plan to attend College (2 or 4 yr Schools)
~ Open to any student regardless of career choice
~ Preference may be given to applicants pursuing an education in agriculture or related field

2 - County Wide Scholarships
~ One or two  $  500 or $1,000 scholarship (Number for 2020 TBD)
~ Renville County resident regardless of school attended (includes home schooled)
~ Plan to attend College (2 or 4 yr Schools)
~ Preference to those who plan to pursue Ag Related Careers but open to all students regardless of career choice
3 -  Jonathan Roker Memorial Scholarship will be awarded for 2020. 
~  The Jonathan Roker Memorial Scholarship was originally provided and funded by the Bird Island – Lake Lillian Class of 1979 and is now administered by ProAg. Jonathan had been a strong supporter of 4-H and FFA providing opportunities for students to participate who otherwise may not have had an opportunity. Jonathan had an unmistakable passion for rural communities and for the rural way of life.
~  1 or more $1,000 scholarship(s)
~ Attend BLHS, BOLD, Cedar Mountain, GFW, RCW, Redwood Area, YME or  but need not be a resident of Renville County or be a home schooled resident of Renville County.
~ Plan to attend College (2 or 4 yr Schools)
~ Preference will be given to applicants pursuing an education in agriculture,  crop, livestock or related ag field.
~ Selection is based on academic aptitude, vocational promise, personal attributes and leadership qualities. Added consideration for those who demonstrate activities in 4-H ,FFA, and leadership.

Students who wish to apply for any of the Pro Ag administered scholarships and AFA scholarship may complete just the AFA application online version  at:   AFA Scholarship Application

This will fulfill the application requirements to be considered for all the scholarships.

4 - The AFA scholarship is for a student pursuing post-secondary education for careers in agriculture. Application requirements are the same as above (Renville County Resident, attending one of the schools or home schooled) with an intent in pursuing agriculture related field. A face to face interview will also be coordinated in early April.
An online application must be used at

AFA scholarship application finalists will be invited to a personal interview with the scholarship committee

You must use the online application if you will be applying for a National AFA Scholarships.

AFA Scholarship Application

ProAg is collaborating with Agriculture Future of America (AFA) to support an agricultural
scholarship program. AFA is a 501(c)3 corporation dedicated to helping support higher
education and leader development of future agriculture producers and rural business
leaders. Founded in 1996, AFA works to create partnerships in rural communities where
agribusinesses, educational institutions, government agencies, associations and individuals
raise funds for agriculture scholarships and promote leader development.

This AFA scholarship is $4,200. $3,200 is an academic scholarship to your college of choice and
$1,000 is for your registration at the AFA Leaders Conference in Kansas City, MO. November 12-15,  2020.

If you have questions about these scholarships opportunities please feel free to contact ProAg
ProAg  David Scheibel at 320-579-0442
AFA Alumni Joel Mathiowetz at 507-430-8336

The ProAg Scholarship Selection Committee consists of:

David Scheibel
Neal Prokosch
Doug Olinger
Joel Mathiowetz
Lisa Roker
Jim Boersma

Website Builder